Leading the way to a cure

LuCIN - Lupus Clinical Investigators Network

Lucin - Lupus Clinical Investigators Network

LuCIN Mission

To facilitate the clinical study of new and existing therapies to treat, cure, and ultimately prevent lupus

Our Plan of Action

• Emulate clinical trial network models used with excellent results by other disease-focused     voluntary organizations.

• Mobilize the world's leading lupus experts to identify and evaluate the most promising new   treatments.

• Reduce the risk in clinical drug development through the establishment of a novel clinical     trials network.

• Forge strategic partnerships with pharmaceutical industry.

• Engage the lupus patient community in supporting new treatment development.

    –   Patient Advocates for Lupus Studies (PALS)

LuCIN Overarching Goals

• Conduct safe, reliable and coordinated evaluation of new lupus treatments.

• Facilitate patient access to novel clinical studies.

• Maintain centralized expertise in lupus clinical research.

• Optimize lupus outcome measures by improving existing methodologies.

• Utilize archived clinical data and biospecimens to better understand lupus.

• Promote the advancement of quality lupus research by facilitating the training and
  mentoring of new clinical research investigators.

LuCIN Leadership

Executive Committee:

Joseph Craft, MD, Yale University (Chair)

Peggy Crow, MD, Hospital for Special Surgery

Benjamin Schwartz, MD, PhD, Camden Group, LLC

Daniel Wallace MD, Cedars Sinai Medical Center

Gary Gilkeson MD, Medical University of South Carolina

Judith James MD, PhD, Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Kelly McVearry, PhD, Hypatia Group

Kenneth Kalunian, MD, University of California – San Diego

Maria Dall’Era, MD, University of California – San Francisco

Peter Lipsky, MD, AMPEL BioSolutions, LLC

Kenneth Farber, Co-President, Lupus Research Alliance

Peggy Dowd, Co-President, Lupus Research Alliance

Albert Roy, Executive Director, LuCIN

Steering Committee:

Kenneth Kalunian, MD, University of California – San Diego (Chair)

Maria Dall’Era, MD, University of California – San Francisco (Vice Chair)

Cynthia Aranow, MD, Feinstein Institute of Medical Research/Northwell Health

Paul Fortin, MD, Université Laval – Quebec

Saira Sheikh, MD, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill

Maureen McMahon, MD, University of California – Los Angeles

Mark Matsos, MD, McMaster University

David Karp, MD University of Texas - Southwestern

Anca Askanase, MD, Columbia University

S. Sam Lim, MD, Emory University

Rosalind Ramsey-Goldman, MD, Northwestern University

Nora Singer, MD, The MetroHealth System - Cleveland

Jane Salmon, MD, Hospital for Special Surgery

 LuCIN Centers

To view a listing of LuCIN Centers, please download a pdf here.